The One Where I’m Chandler and I found myself a Joey

DISCLAIMER: VIDEOS AND PICTURES ARE NOT MINE. CREDITS GO TO WARNER BROS FOR THE F.R.I.E.N.D.S SERIES.

So no one told you life was gonna be this way? CLAP x4 (FOUR not FIVE)

F.R.I.E.N.D.S was a hit comedy series that aired in 1994 about six friends living in New York that ran for ten straight years. 21 years later, it’s still as funny, influential and so so so nostalgic. 

Who could ever deny the timelessness of F.R.I.E.N.D.S? Certainly not me. I wasn’t even born yet when it first aired, but it definitely had a role in my childhood. I remember watching it at such a young age and I would laugh at everything Chandler Bing said even if I didn’t understand it. As I grew up and as the series continued to be played on tv, I started to actually understand what all the jokes were about and it made me realize that I identify with Chandler the most.

Sarcastic, witty, loads of insecurities. Or, in Chandler’s words, “Funny, sophisticated and lovable once you get to know him.” Chandler Bing, thats me.

SEE: 44 Reasons Why You’re A Chandler Bing

However, you really can not talk about Chandler without bringing in Joey “How You Doin’?” Tribbiani. Joey was his best friend, brother, roommate, and the chick to his duck. Chandler and Joey went through a lot together and was so comfortable with each other. They had each other’s backs even if Chandler would laugh at Joey’s ideas and Joey would laugh at Chandler’s everything. They were just THE BEST FRIENDS.

Identifying myself as Chandler obviously also makes me have my own Joey, or several Joeys actually.

I have my top Joeys who have been there for me through thick and thin and who, no matter what is happening in their lives, will drop it if I needed their help. Which, is also the same if they need mine.

  1. My longest Joey

Passport

I’ve known Mayi since I was three and no matter how many days, weeks or months we don’t see each other, it’s still exactly the same when we do actually see each other. She’s my Joey in that sense. That no matter what life brings us, we’re still gonna be the same to each other. Just like how in the end, Chandler leaves the apartment to start a family with Monica, but He promised Joey that he’ll have an apartment above his house just for Joey. Mayi may go to Ateneo and I may be in La Salle, but we’ll always always be best friends. Specially cause she lives in front of me.

2. Gradeschool Joeys

 These are only half of the Joeys that truly helped me find out a lot more about myself. I’m so comfortable talking about things that only they would know and how embarrassing my tween stages were. They’re my type of friends who I can be completely frank and forward to and they’re the ones who truly call me out on things that aren’t so good about myself. These Joeys are just the people I need when I need someone to knock some sense into me even in not the nicest ways.

3. My Highschool Joeys

I moved to a different school before starting Highschool and thats where I met the people who truly developed, shaped and made me a better, kinder and stronger woman. I would do anything to thank these Joeys, like how Chandler paid for all of Joey’s acting classes because he believed in him, I would do the same the each of them. They’re the Joeys that, without a doubt, just knows how to cheer me up. They make me a way better person, and I honestly could not thank them enough.

I have encountered numerous Joeys in my life, and with them, I’m forever thankful. For the next Joeys to come, I hope you’re ready for a life of adventure and fun and just all out Chandler-ness.

SEE: 18 Times “Friends” Got Way, Way Too Real

Leave a comment